Links to IAWG Members

Member Organizations Cooperating Non-Member Organizations

Per its mandates, the IAWG is comprised of senior-level officials from the Departments of State, Justice, Defense, and Education and the U.S. Agency for International Development as well as comparable representatives from other interested government departments and agencies.  Representatives of the National Security Council and the Director of the Office of Management and Budget participate in the IAWG at their discretion.  The Department of State's Assistant Secretary for Educational and Cultural Affairs chairs the group. The group is broken down into three working levels.  First, the Executive Committee is comprised of the agencies and departments named in the Executive Order and the legislation.  Second, the Principals group constitutes the entire working group as articulated in the Executive Order. The Principals group is supported by a working-level "Sherpa" group comprised of interested agency representatives who have been designated by the Principals or volunteered to work on specific issues and projects undertaken by the IAWG.  All of these groups are served by a staff housed within the Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs at the Department of State. IAWG products and projects also benefit from the cooperation of many federal organizations that are not formal members of the IAWG.

Member Organizations

*denotes statutorily mandated members

Department of Agriculture

Department of Commerce

*Departmentof Defense

*Department of Education

Department of Energy

Department of Health and Human Services

Department of the Interior

*Departmentof Justice

Department of Labor

*Department of State, (Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs - Chair)

Department of Transportation

Department of the Treasury

Broadcasting Board of Governors

Federal Mediation and Conciliation Service

Federal Emergency Management Agency

Federal Trade Commission

Japan-United States Friendship Commission

National Aeronautics and Space Administration

National Endowment for the Arts

National Endowment for the Humanities

National Science Foundation

National Security Council

Office of Management and Budget

Office of Personnel Management

Peace Corps

*United States Agency for International Development

Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars


Non-Member Contributing Federal Organizations

Civil Air Patrol

Department of Housing and Urban Development

Environmental Protection Agency

Federal Communications Commission

Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

General Services Administration

Inter-American Foundation

Library of Congress

Marine Mammal Commission

National Archives and Records Administration

National Endowment for Democracy

Nuclear Regulatory Commission

Securities and Exchange Commission

Social Security Administration

Tennessee Valley Authority

Trade and Development Agency

United States Institute of Peace